Tag Archives: FIA

F1, Brazilian GP racing: The samba prom with the 20 fastest “machines” in the world (Part 1)

The 2019 season reaches the penultimate race to take place in Sao Paulo, Brazil. The 20 th race, Brazilian Grand Prix, held in the land of skilled football, Samba and passionate carnival; and the cradle of Aryton Senna, the legendary F1 driver of the world racing village who was honored at the event last weekend.

Interlagos racetrack is located on the outskirts of Sao Paulo, the most crowded city in Brazil and was formed in 1936 to organize domestic tournaments and several renovations before officially joining the Formula 1 race, the voice of Aryton Senna, the city council called for investment and designed a completely new version for Interlagos; Since then the track has some additional changes in accordance with the new safety standards and up to date.

The race to inaugurate the new racetrack structure was organized in 1990 with the victory of Alain Prost and Ferrari racing team, followed by Gerhard Berger and Ayrton Senna’s “hero”, both McLaren-Honda.

The all-new Interlagos was officially called Autodromo Jose Carlos Pace, the name of a famous Brazilian racer in the 1960s. He had an impressive career playing at many famous European races of that period; once won Brazilian GP only once in 1974 in Martini Racing.

An additional information, the Martini Racing was developed by the famous British racing car company Brabham with a Cosworth V8 engine. In the 1970-1980 period, the team was owned by Bernie Ecclestone with later established associates like Gordon Murray, Ron Dennis, Charlie Whiting. The image of the Martini Racing was recreated with the design of the Williams car from Massa era. and Bottas helm the 2014 and 2015 seasons.

Roadmap & DRS zone (according to FIA)

Autodromo Jose Carlos Pace has the direction of running counter-clockwise with a total length of 4,309 km including 15 low and high speed corners interwoven requiring high steering skills from the racer. At the same time, a height of 700m above sea level in Sao Paulo is a challenge for all. The riders compete 71 laps with a total journey of 305,909 km. The fastest lap time of 1 minute 10,540 set by Bottas of Mercedes team in 2018.







Honor the outstanding individuals of F1 racing in 2019 (Part 1)

The last two notable events of Formula 1 racing village in 2019 took place in the early days of December, namely the tire test as well as FIA’s annual award ceremony. This is an opportunity for all riders to look back on a successful year and also make choices for the new season ahead.

The tire types in 2019 will continue to be used in 2020

Tire supplier Pirelli has had a busy day in the past when it has to process data and evaluate its test tires for 2020 on December 3 to April 4. The results of those two test days were not really satisfactory when the feedback of the racing teams had both good and bad points.

Pirelli changed some features of the prototype in 2020, resulting in performance improvements on several factors. But besides that, some other factors were unsatisfactory so they could not operate at the level that the racing teams expected. Therefore it will be difficult to draw an accurate conclusion about the possibility of new tires.

From there, Pirelli said it would be happy to continue to use the 2019 tires for the next season if the majority of racing teams choose the same. According to Article 12.6.1 of the FIA ​​technical regulation, F1 racing teams will vote and need 70% of the votes to approve. And all 10 teams have agreed to maintain the tire set in 2019 and there will be no changes for 22 races in the next season.

FIA’s annual awards ceremony and Temple of Fame

On the evening of December 6 in Paris, France, the world sports car festival held a ceremony to honor all individuals and collectives who have made impressive achievements in the top racing events of FIA. The ceremony was solemnly held at the Carrousel du Louvre underground commercial center with the participation of officials and riders with excellent achievements in 2019.

Four world championships in four different formats are recognized by the FIA, including Formula 1, WEC (endurance racing), WRC (World Rally Championship) and World Rallycross Championship (WRXC). There are two drivers leading the WRXC in 2019: Timmy Hansen (Sweden) and Andreas Bakkerud (Norway) but Hansen was first crowned by the sub-index when there are more victories than the opponent.